Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation
Sandy Creek Schools Home of the Cougars

South Central USD 5

Sandy Creek


Ajax Loading Image


Sandy Creek Journalism - Class B State Runner-up!

Students compete at state journalism to bring home the hardware

Story image 1_0

The Sandy Creek Journalism team, composed of twenty-two journalism and art students, traveled to Northeast Community College in Norfolk, NE to compete at the State Journalism Championships. The students faired well against their Class B competitors, raking in numerous individual medals and bringing home the State Runner-Up trophy. Gering won the championship with 286 points, Sandy Creek received second with 278 points, and Scotus was third with 272 points.

Individual medalists include: 

Advertising - Kenzie Turman, state runner-up

Column Writing - Garrett Uecker, state runner-up 

Editorial Cartooning - John Uecker, state runner-up; Gavin Keeler, 3rd place

Editorial Writing - Mckensi Uecker, state champion 

Entertainment Writing - Jaeden Switzer, 5th place

Graphic Illustration - Alisha Schnakenberg, 3rd place; Addison Kuta, 4th place; and Barbara Rodriguez, 5th place 

Headline Writing - Alyssa Brennfoerder, state runner-up

In-depth Newspaper Coverage - Magic Team (Addison Kuta, Garrett Orcutt, Barbara Rodriguez, Hope Svoboda, Alisha Schnakenberg, and Jaeden Switzer), 6th place 

News Writing - Brittany Godtel, 6th place

News/feature Photography - Courtney Anderson, 3rd place 

Photo Illustration - Hope Svoboda, state champion; Alisha Schnakenberg, 4th place

Sports News Writing - Kyra Sorenson, 6th place

Yearbook Sports Feature Writing - Alyssa Brennfoerder, 4th place; Garrett Orcutt, 5th place

Yearbook Theme Copy Writing - Jaeden Switzer, 5th place


Additional qualifiers include: 

Advertising - Tiffany Schweer, Sadie Svoboda

Editorial Cartooning - Samantha Stapleman

Editorial Writing - Kyra Sorensen

Headline Writing - Garrett Uecker

In-depth Newspaper Coverage - State Writing Team (Garrett Uecker, John Uecker, Courtney Anderson, Alyssa Brennfoerder, Barbara Rodriguez, Molly Dane), Screen Time Team (Hope Svoboda, Addison Kuta, Jaedin Switzer, Garrett Orcutt)

Newspaper Feature Writing - Courtney Anderson

Photo Illustration - Barbara Rodgriguez

Sports News Coverage - Garrett Orcutt

Yearbook Sports Feature Writing - Makenzie Svoboda

Yearbook Theme Development - Garrett Orcutt, Nora Pulda, Jacob Schlick