Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

South Central USD 5

Sandy Creek


Ajax Loading Image


Sandy Creek's Nanette Shackelford Recognized with a B.E.S.T Award

Story image 1_0

July 2, 2018


The Nebraska Department of Education recognized 56 Nebraska business teachers at the
Nebraska Career Education Conference held June 8, 2018 in Kearney.

Teachers whose professional activities influenced business and marketing education in
Nebraska during the past year received B.E.S.T. — Belong, Excel, Study and Travel — Awards
for their involvement in professional associations, community and school activities, professional
leadership development and service to the business education profession.

B.E.S.T. Awards exemplify superior qualities, including dedication to students, community
outreach, and continual classroom improvement efforts. The following individuals contributed
significantly to the quality of education in their community and the state:

    • 25-year award winner: Jean Condon, Mid-Plains Community College; Deb Wolken,
    Lincoln Northeast High School
    • 20-year award winners: Lisa Hanson, Neligh-Oakdale High School;
    • 10-year award winner: Cathy Nutt, Mid-Plains Community College
    • First-year award winners: Alyse Andreasen, Wilber-Clatonia High School; Alexandra
    Fakinos, Lincoln East High School; Angie Palmer, Sumner-Eddyville-Miller High
    School; Shannon Quible, Lincoln North Star; Nanette Shackelford, Sandy Creek High