Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

South Central USD 5

Lawrence-Nelson

Working...

Ajax Loading Image

 

Start of the 2021-2022 School Year at LN

What to Expect

The start of the 2021-2022 school year is almost upon us!  A few things we want to make everyone aware of include...

 

What has changed...

 

  • 2021-2022 School Calendar
  • Transportation for the school year:  If you didn't ride the bus last year, and need transportation this year, please contact Larry Mazour at lmazour@southcentralusd.us or at (402) 756-7013 to be added to the routes.
  • If your child plans to participate in middle school or high school sports, they must have an NSAA sports physical & the consent form.  Those items can be found HERE.
  • New staff members that are welcomed to the Lawrence/Nelson school system include:
    • Robyn Menke, elementary cook
    • Nolan Kawata, elementary PE teacher and high school VB coach
    • Dan Kennedy, preschool - high school principal
    • Mary Caulkins, Life Skills teacher in Lawrence

 

What hasn't changed...

  • Daily Bulletin (Make sure to bookmark this!  This is where we update what is going on at our schools!)
  • School Supply Lists
  • Lunch Prices
    • Breakfast/lunch menus are always linked in the Daily Bulletin
    • Free/Reduced Lunch Form (please submit prior to September 1st as this is needed for the ACE scholarships, even if lunch & breakfast are free this year!)
  • Transportation
    • You should be receiving notice on your child's transportation, if riding a route/shuttle, very soon
    • If you have questions, please contact Larry Mazour at the elementary at 402-756-7013 or email him at lmazour@southcentralusd.us 

 

Dates you need to be aware of...

  • August 4th:  Preschool Orientation & Health Fair in Lawrence
    • Preschoolers will need to bring the paperwork requested from the school, including the following (many have already turned in everything except the physical forms!):
      • Copy of your child's original birth certificate
      • Dental & Physical Records
      • Immunizations,
      • Head Start Application Form & Letter of Intent, AND
    • Head Start paperwork mailed from Head Start (will be coming closer to the orientation time)
  • August 5th:  Technology Roll Out Night for the MS/HS in Nelson - TURN IN YOUR SPORTS PHYSICALS BY THIS DATE, INCLUDING THE 7TH GRADE PHYSICALS (REQUIRED FOR ALL 7TH GRADERS & OUT OF STATE STUDENTS)
  • August 9th:  Start of sports' practices for high school VB, FB, and Cross Country (you must have a physical to participate!)
  • August 10th:  Immunization Clinic at Superior Family Medical Center - call today if your child needs immunization updated before school!
  • August 11th:  BOE Meeting at Sandy Creek
  • August 16th:  Elementary Open House from 6 - 7 PM
  • August 17th:  First Day for K-12 Students
    • REMINDER THAT THE SHUTTLE BUS FROM NELSON TO LAWRENCE LEAVES @ 7:20 AM
    • NCAPS BUS LEAVES @ 7:40 AM
  • August 20th:  VB and FB Scrimmages
  • August 23rd:  First Day for Preschool
  • August 24th:  VB Jamboree @ Kenesaw
  • August 25th:  School pictures in NELSON; FB Parents' Supper @ D & D's in Nelson
  • August 26th:  School pictures in LAWRENCE
  • September 1st:  Band will be marching at the State Fair
  • NO SCHOOL DATES THAT WERE ADDED FOR ELEMENTARY:
    • September 10th (no K-5)
    • October 29th (no K-5)
    • November 8th (no K-5)
    • PRESCHOOL & MIDDLE/HIGH SCHOOL WILL BE IN SESSION ON THESE DATES
  • Girls' and boys' state basketball will now happen during the same week.  For the schedules, click HERE.

Who to contact...

  • Elementary Secretary:  Alex Kucera, 402-756-7013 or email akucera@southcentralusd.us
  • Middle/High School Secretary:  Pam Wehrman, 402-225-3371 or email pwehrman@southcentralusd.us
  • L/N Bookkeeper & Secretary:  Amber Epley, 402-225-3371 or email aepley@southcentralusd.us 
  • L/N Guidance Counselor (new enrollments or class changes):  Connie Porter, 402-225-3371 or email cporter@southcentralusd.us
  • L/N Transportation:  Larry Mazour, 402-756-7013 or email lmazour@southcentralusd.us
  • L/N Athletics & Activities:  Brian Blevins, 402-225-3371 or email bblevins@southcentralusd.us
  • L/N Principal:  Dan Kennedy, email at dkennedy@southcentralusd.us 
  • SCNUSD #5 Superintendent:  Julie Otero, email at jotero@southcentralusd.us